District Court

District Courts are created by the Constitution. They are the trial courts of Kansas, with general original jurisdiction over all civil and criminal cases, including:

  • Divorce and domestic relations
  • Damage suits
  • Probate and administration of estates
  • Guardianships
  • Conservatorships
  • Care of the mentally ill
  • Juvenile matters
  • Small claims

It is here that the criminal and civil jury trials are held. Kansas is divided into 31 judicial districts, with a varying number of counties and judges in each district. 

Sherman County is part of the 15th Judicial District which includes Thomas, Sheridan, Cheyenne, Rawlins, Wallace, and Logan Counties.